Arsenal and Man City dominate Premier League Player of the Season shortlist

By Xorkpe Sosu 4 Min Read

The shortlist for the 2022/23 EA SPORTS FIFA Player of the Season award in the Premier League consists of seven players representing five different clubs.

The prestigious Premier League Player of the Season award, sponsored by EA SPORTS since 2016, has been a significant honor bestowed annually since the 1994/95 season.

It stands as one of the three highly esteemed end-of-season individual awards, alongside the PFA Players’ Player of the Year and the FWA Footballer of the Year.

Kevin De Bruyne, Erling Haaland, Martin Odegaard, Marcus Rashford, Bukayo Saka, and Kieran Trippier have emerged as nominees for the prestigious Premier League Player of the Year award for the 2022/23 season.


De Bruyne has showcased his exceptional playmaking skills, leading the Premier League in assists with an impressive tally of 16.

Meanwhile, Haaland has made a monumental impact in his debut season, surpassing the competition’s goal-scoring record with an astounding 36 goals so far.

Rashford has demonstrated remarkable influence on the pitch since soccer resumed after the World Cup, making him one of the most decisive players in the league.


Martin Odegaard and Bukayo Saka, key players for Arsenal, have earned their nominations for the Premier League Player of the Year award.

Arsenal, who were leading the league until recently and aiming for their first title since 2004, have witnessed remarkable contributions from these two talents.

Odegaard, who was appointed as Arsenal’s captain last summer, has displayed tremendous growth and elevated his game to new heights this season.

His leadership qualities have become evident, and he has emerged as a true leader on the field.


Similarly, Saka has shown continuous progress, excelling in both goal-scoring and assisting, accumulating an impressive total of 24 combined goals and assists in the Premier League.

Harry Kane has regained his top form in the 2022/23 season, delivering exceptional performances for Tottenham.

Despite his impressive return of 27 goals, Kane faces tough competition from Erling Haaland, whose explosive impact has overshadowed his Golden Boot chances.

Unfortunately, Tottenham’s overall performance has declined, making Kane’s individual achievements even more remarkable.

Meanwhile, Kieran Trippier, the consistent right-back for Newcastle, has earned a nomination for his unwavering performances.

Having started in all 35 Premier League games for the Magpies, Trippier’s contribution has been instrumental in their pursuit of a top-four finish, which would be their first in two decades.

Kevin De Bruyne, who won the award last season, currently holds the title of Premier League Player of the Season.

The prestigious honor has been claimed by Manchester City players for the past three consecutive years, highlighting the club’s dominant performance in the league.

In addition to their Player of the Season nominations, Erling Haaland, Martin Odegaard, and Bukayo Saka are also eligible for the Young Player of the Season award.

They have secured their spots on the eight-player shortlist, showcasing their exceptional talents and potential.

Furthermore, the Manager of the Season award features a highly competitive lineup, with Mikel Arteta, Pep Guardiola, Eddie Howe, Marco Silva, Unai Emery, and Roberto De Zerbi all vying for the recognition of their managerial achievements in the Premier League.


Share This Article