Burna Boy, Wizkid Nominated for 2021 BET Awards [See Full List]

By Stermy 6 Min Read

Multiple award-winning Nigerian musicians, Burna Boy and Wizkid grab nominations in the 2021 BET Awards.

Burna Boy who is born with his legal name as ‘Damini Ebunoluwa Ogulu‘ and his brother, Ayodeji Ibrahim Balogun better known in the showbiz circles as Wizkid both got nominated into the same category “Best International Act category” and will be battling it out.

Well, the two stars happen to be the only Nigerians superstars in the category and will be competing with the likes of Tanzanian superstar, Diamond Platnumz;  Aya Nakamura and Youssoupha both from France; Brazilian act, Emicida; British acts, the rapper Headie One and the duo Yung T and Bugsey in the same category as well.

We're now on WhatsApp. Click here to join.

Also Read: 2021 BET Awards: Diamond Platnumz Nominated, To Battle With Burna Boy, Wizkid For “Best International Act” Category

Burna Boy won the Best International Act category at the 2019 and 2020 BET Awards, while Wizkid also won it back then in 2012.

Both Burna and Wizkid made Nigeria proud by waving high the flag during the 64th edition of the Grammy Award show by bagging awards.

The nomination for the BET Awards 2021 was announced yesterday, Thursday, May 27th, 2021, the show will air live on Sunday, June 27 on BET.

New Update: Burna Boy Wins Best International Act BET Awards 2021


Full List of Nominees for the 2021 BET awards:


Best International Act

Aya Nakamura (France)

Burna Boy (Nigeria) [Winner]

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Emicida (Brazil)

Headie One (Uk)

Wizkid (Nigeria)

Young T & Bugsey (Uk)

Youssoupha (France)


Album of the Year

After Hours – The Weeknd

Blame It on Baby – DaBaby

Heaux Tales – Jazmine Sullivan

King’s Disease – Nas

Ungodly Hour – Chloe X Halle


Best female R&B / pop artist



Jazmine Sullivan

Jhené Aiko

Summer Walker



Best male R&B / pop artist


Anderson .Paak

Chris Brown



The Weekend


Best female hip hop artist

Cardi B

Coi Leray

Doja Cat

Megan Thee Stallion




Best male hip hop artist



J. Cole

Jack Harlow

Lil Baby

Pop Smoke


Best new artist

Coi Leray

Flo Milli


Jack Harlow


Pooh Shiesty


Best collaboration:

Cardi B featuring Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”

DaBaby featuring Roddy Ricch – “Rockstar”

DJ Khaled featuring Drake – “Popstar”

Jack Harlow featuring DaBaby, Tory Lanez & Lil Wayne – “Whats Poppin (Remix)”

Megan Thee Stallion featuring DaBaby – “Cry Baby”

Pop Smoke featuring Lil Baby & DaBaby – “For the Night”


Best group:

21 Savage & Metro Boomin

Chloe X Halle

Chris Brown & Young Thug

City Girls


Silk Sonic


Dr. Bobby Jones best gospel/inspirational award:

Bebe Winans – “In Jesus Name”

CeCe Winans – “Never Lost”

H.E.R. – “Hold Us Together”

Kirk Franklin – “Strong God”

Marvin Sapp – “Thank You for It All”

Tamela Mann – “Touch From You”


BET HER award:

Alicia Keys featuring Khalid – “So Done”

Brandy featuring Chance the Rapper – “Baby Mama”

Bri Steves – “Anti Queen”

Chloe X Halle – “Baby Girl”

Ciara featuring Ester Dean – “Rooted”

SZA – “Good Days”


Viewer’s choice award:

Cardi B featuring Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”

Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Go Crazy”

DaBaby featuring Roddy Ricch – “Rockstar”

DJ Khaled featuring Drake – “Popstar”

Drake featuring Lil Durk – “Laugh Now Cry Later”

Lil Baby – “The Bigger Picture”

Megan Thee Stallion featuring Beyoncé – “Savage (Remix)”

Silk Sonic – “Leave the Door Open”


Video of the year:

Cardi B – “Up”

Cardi B featuring Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”

Chloe X Halle – “Do It”

Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Go Crazy”

Drake featuring Lil Durk – “Laugh Now Cry Later”

Silk Sonic – “Leave the Door Open”


Video director of the year:

Benny Boom

Bruno Mars & Florent Déchard

Cole Bennett

Colin Tilley

Dave Meyers

Hype Williams


Best movie:

Coming 2 America

Judas and the Black Messiah

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

One Night in Miami


The United States Vs. Billie Holiday


Best actress:

Andra Day

Angela Bassett

Issa Rae

Jurnee Smollett

Viola Davis



Best actor:

Aldis Hodge

Chadwick Boseman

Damson Idris

Daniel Kaluuya

Eddie Murphy

Lakeith Stanfield


Youngstars award:

Alex R. Hibbert

Ethan Hutchison

Lonnie Chavis

Marsai Martin

Michael Epps

Storm Reid


Sportswoman of the year award:

A’ja Wilson

Candace Parker

Claressa Shields

Naomi Osaka

Serena Williams

Skylar Diggins-Smith


Sportsman of the year award:

Kyrie Irving

Lebron James

Patrick Mahomes

Russell Westbrook

Russell Wilson

Stephen Curry


Also Watch This Video Below

Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel Townflex TV

I hope you had a nice time going through the above article, subscribe to townflex.com by clicking on the bell icon displaying in the bottom corner to receive our daily post updates first.

Send your news stories to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233247578971

Source: Townflex.com

Share This Article
By Stermy
Stermy is one Crazy fan of the word "Internet". Always online to stay informed and keep others updated. #townflex