Guardiola, Arteta, and Emery Nominated for Premier League Manager of the Year

By Xorkpe Sosu 2 Min Read

Pep Guardiola, Mikel Arteta, and Unai Emery, all hailing from Spain, have each received nominations for the Premier League manager of the year.

The Spanish representatives comprise half of the shortlist for this prestigious award.

Guardiola, the head coach of Manchester City, is well on his path to claiming his fifth Premier League title in just six years.

He managed to overcome the eight-point gap created by Arsenal under the guidance of Mikel Arteta.


Arteta’s commendable efforts in revitalizing Arsenal and leading them to contend for the title after years of struggle deserve significant recognition.

In addition, fellow Basque and former Arsenal manager Emery has secured a place on the list in recognition of his remarkable transformation of Aston Villa.

Under Emery’s guidance, Villa has transitioned from struggling to contending for European positions.


With 57 points, they currently sit just eight points behind Liverpool, who hold the fifth spot.

Joining the aforementioned managers on the shortlist for the Premier League manager of the year award are Roberto De Zerbi from Brighton, Eddie Howe from Newcastle United, and Marco Silva from Fulham.

De Zerbi has garnered considerable acclaim for the stylistic approach he has implemented at Brighton since replacing Graham Potter, leading the Seagulls to one of their most successful seasons.

On Thursday night, his team will face Eddie Howe’s Newcastle, who are aiming to qualify for the Champions League for the first time in two decades.


Meanwhile, Marco Silva has accomplished an impressive feat with newly-promoted Fulham, positioning them securely above the relegation zone and even placing them in the top half of the table.

The Portuguese coach’s team has emerged as one of the season’s delightful surprises.

When it comes to determining the recipient of the Premier League manager of the year award, the decision-making process involves a combination of public votes and the input of a panel of experts.


Share This Article